Stebel Twin Magnum Horn Install - step by step [Archive] - Honda VTX forums for Honda VTX 1300 / VTX 1800 motorcycles

: Stebel Twin Magnum Horn Install - step by step



footprintsinconc
10-04-2009, 10:20 PM
hi guys!

here is a step by step install of the TM80 Magnum Stebel horn that i just did today on my bike (i also sell these horns, see here (http://www.vtxcafe.com/showthread.php?t=31665)). this procedure can be used to install any horn, not just the stebel horns.

material:


14ga wire for the Stebel TM80 Twin Magnum (12amp combined horns)
12ga wire for the stebel Nautilus (or any air horn -- they are rated at about 18amp)
30 amp relay
connectors


locate where you want to install the horns on the bike. i installed mine on the front frame of the bike, one horn on one side and another on the other side. i installed it using 1" insulated clamps. using this method you can install them near the top of the frame or near the bottom of the frame. they couldnt be installed anywhere in between because on either side there were clamps for the wiring harness that interfered. i think the best place to install them would be near the bottom, but installed mine near the top.

you can also install them on a home made bracket where the stock horn is installed if you do not have crash bars. a friend of mine is going that route. i will try to get him to take a picture once he gets his installed.

here are some pics:

http://lh5.ggpht.com/_gyNkSEPh43k/SslPmt059bI/AAAAAAAABf4/Ko_RnUTIhR0/s400/step%202%20-%20TM80%20Magnum.JPG http://lh3.ggpht.com/_gyNkSEPh43k/SslPomUHQOI/AAAAAAAABf8/9jJRWww9-94/s400/step%201%20-%20TM80%20Magnum.JPG

remove the stock horn and then loosen the bolt that holds the plate just behind the stock horn so that you can pull out the wires to behind the frame:

http://lh4.ggpht.com/_gyNkSEPh43k/SslPqTTVWnI/AAAAAAAABgA/6HR9zQzLD04/s400/step%203%20-%20TM80%20Magnum.JPG http://lh4.ggpht.com/_gyNkSEPh43k/SslPsZwZNgI/AAAAAAAABgE/dzN4_lkz1Jg/s400/step%204%20-%20TM80%20Magnum.JPG

connect the wire going to the stock horn to the 30amp relay. the positive wire to terminal 86, the ground wire to terminal 85:

http://lh6.ggpht.com/_gyNkSEPh43k/SslPt-25E6I/AAAAAAAABgI/bS075F1hdxk/s400/step%205%20-%20TM80%20Magnum.JPG

make two wiring harness for wiring the new horns (one positive and one ground). the best way to make the connections are by soldering, but that takes practice and since i dont have any, i used the crimp connectors and heat shrinked the connections to protect it from moisture:

http://lh6.ggpht.com/_gyNkSEPh43k/SslPwY4jpXI/AAAAAAAABgM/T4qc0AXnErU/s400/step%206%20-%20TM80%20Magnum.JPG

connect the wire harness that you just made to the 30amp relay. the positive wire from the new horns to terminal 87. connect the positive from the battery (with an inline fuse) to terminal 30. i actually have jeff's fuse box mod installed on my box, so that is where i got the power for the horns. be sure to connect the ground to a ground any where on the bike (i connected to the ground on the front coil). i then tucked the relay into the cavity just behind the neck:

http://lh4.ggpht.com/_gyNkSEPh43k/SslPx79HJ8I/AAAAAAAABgQ/LnHSi_VMsK0/s400/step%207%20-%20TM80%20Magnum.JPG

now connect the wires to both horns:

http://lh4.ggpht.com/_gyNkSEPh43k/SslPzePhSJI/AAAAAAAABgU/M85DRsa4ErY/s400/step%208%20-%20TM80%20Magnum.JPG http://lh3.ggpht.com/_gyNkSEPh43k/SslP0uML9MI/AAAAAAAABgY/T63fJeWVC1U/s400/step%209%20-%20TM80%20Magnum.JPG

you are now officially done! be prepared to be heard!!

i forgot to mention this, and stumbled upon it when i did my install using the insulated clamps. since the horns need to be able to vibrate in order to produce their sound, installing them such that the body of the horn is snug up against the bracket will dampen the sound produced.

so here are the two things that need to be done differently than the write up above:


make sure you first of all use the 1 3/8" insulated clamps NOT the 1".
install a rubber grommet between the horn body and the clamp as shown below in the attached picture:

http://lh3.ggpht.com/_gyNkSEPh43k/Ss1Ad_Ny9SI/AAAAAAAABg0/2CeA9oInJ-E/s400/step%202a%20-%20TM80%20Magnum.JPG

Bono
10-06-2009, 10:43 AM
Looks pretty simple, thanks!:patriot:

Madness_MC
10-06-2009, 01:01 PM
Omar -

Nice write-up and pictures. Keep up the good work. You've made a lot of progress in the past several months, my friend.

LugnutZ
10-07-2009, 12:45 PM
thanks for the write up.

footprintsinconc
10-07-2009, 01:46 PM
thanks guys! it is fairly simple.

i did forget something that i have gone back and edited in


Omar -

Nice write-up and pictures. Keep up the good work. You've made a lot of progress in the past several months, my friend.

thanks joe for your help as well. i've actually learned a little bit of wiring concept by working on the bike. didnt know what a relay was, until i did my lights.....the good thing is, i'm learning and loving it.

footprintsinconc
10-09-2009, 11:05 AM
i have been getting pms asking me about the bracket that i used to mount these horns.

these clamps are known as 'insulated clamps/P clamps' or 'rubber cushioned clamps/ P clamps'. the size is 1 3/8" diameter.

look for a local retailer. HD and Lowes and ACE all carry upto 1", at least here in phx.

otherwise here are a couple of places that i found them online:

http://shop1.mailordercentral.com/marshfasteners/prodinfo.asp?number=RUBCLAMP22

or amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0002ZG7Y6

rickyrod3
03-01-2010, 08:03 PM
I'm looking to get horns for my VTX-1800F and was wondering if there is a lapse between pressing the button and the actual sound. Or is it instantanious?
I live in Miami where we get our drivers licenses at our local McDonalds it seems so I need something loud and quick...
Thanks!

epiphysis
03-01-2010, 08:29 PM
very nice write up....makes me want to get a Stebel horn!

LazyDawg
03-01-2010, 10:25 PM
I'm looking to get horns for my VTX-1800F and was wondering if there is a lapse between pressing the button and the actual sound. Or is it instantanious?
I live in Miami where we get our drivers licenses at our local McDonalds it seems so I need something loud and quick...
Thanks!

The horns should fire instantly buddy.


Omar, great write-up my friend, you have come a long way since the PowerBox install ;)LOL

Great work :cheers:

Jeff

wanderingbear
03-01-2010, 11:19 PM
When I install their air norn what gauge wire is needed to make it work. When we did Kenko's we found too thin a wire doesn't allow enough current thru to make it work right. Would you or Jeff have the answer to save me a headache.

rickyrod3
03-01-2010, 11:54 PM
Thanks!:icon_peac

kenko
03-02-2010, 01:34 AM
Nice write up and good pics. :cheers:

LazyDawg
03-02-2010, 02:57 PM
When I install their air norn what gauge wire is needed to make it work. When we did Kenko's we found too thin a wire doesn't allow enough current thru to make it work right. Would you or Jeff have the answer to save me a headache.

I recommend 12awg for the Nautilus/Wolo BadBoy type horns, 14awg will prolly work, but those types of air-horns have a large inrush current. Would also fuse 20amp minimum, if your setup tends to blow the 20amp fuses on occasion then up it to 25amp fuse.

wanderingbear
03-02-2010, 05:42 PM
I recommend 12awg for the Nautilus/Wolo BadBoy type horns, 14awg will prolly work, but those types of air-horns have a large inrush current. Would also fuse 20amp minimum, if your setup tends to blow the 20amp fuses on occasion then up it to 25amp fuse.
They supply a relay do I need a relay and an inline fuse? Sorry I'm hanicapped when it comes to this stuff.

footprintsinconc
03-04-2010, 10:23 AM
Thanks for the kind words! It means I must be doing something right. :)


The horns should fire instantly buddy.

Omar, great write-up my friend, you have come a long way since the PowerBox install ;)LOL
Great work :cheers:
Jeff

Thanks Jeff! You helped me out tremendously when I was doing my first mod -- your power box mod :)


Nice write up and good pics. :cheers:
Thanks for the comment. If it helps someone, it has served its purpose.


They supply a relay do I need a relay and an inline fuse? Sorry I'm hanicapped when it comes to this stuff.

It does come with a relay. so you dont have to buy one. however, you do want to put an inline fuse in there. However, if you have done the power box mod by Jeff, then you will get your power from there and the fuse will be located there.

Lastly, guys, sorry for not looking at the threads lately, after the lay off, its just been a roller coaster ride here, so i have not spent any time here.

if anyone is interested in getting one, just send me a pm or email and i will get in touch with you.

Thanks!!

wanderingbear
03-04-2010, 10:38 AM
Thanks for the kind words! It means I must be doing something right. :)



Thanks Jeff! You helped me out tremendously when I was doing my first mod -- your power box mod :)


Thanks for the comment. If it helps someone, it has served its purpose.



It does come with a relay. so you dont have to buy one. however, you do want to put an inline fuse in there. However, if you have done the power box mod by Jeff, then you will get your power from there and the fuse will be located there.

Lastly, guys, sorry for not looking at the threads lately, after the lay off, its just been a roller coaster ride here, so i have not spent any time here.

if anyone is interested in getting one, just send me a pm or email and i will get in touch with you.

Thanks!!
thanks for putting up with my questions I am ready to install the horn after Daytona.

footprintsinconc
03-04-2010, 11:24 AM
thanks for putting up with my questions I am ready to install the horn after Daytona.

No problem at all!! ask away, man i only learned by asking, so feel free. i would like to be able to return the favor of those who helped me learn......

Redrum
03-26-2010, 10:35 AM
Ok...installed the horn as directed....LOVE THE SOUND!!!! however....hitting the horn in the garage should have me putting my fingers in my ears.....it doesn't....How do I get more volume???? Maybe I have the horn on the bracket to tight...eliminating the cushion of the grommet? Any ideas???

wanderingbear
03-26-2010, 11:12 AM
I installed my air horn so the stock one which is as loud as car horn goes off wirh it. The 2 together can be heard a block away.

Redrum
03-26-2010, 11:36 AM
My stock one is anemic...when it works...sounds tinny and just plain bad. Took it off...I must have something to tight or not tight enough...

wanderingbear
03-26-2010, 12:01 PM
My stock one is anemic...when it works...sounds tinny and just plain bad. Took it off...I must have something to tight or not tight enough...
The 13's are sick sounding at best tne 18's have a very strong horn but I wanted the WTF effect when I hit that button.

epiphysis
04-07-2010, 07:25 PM
I installed the horns following the directions by foots....however, I modified them just a bit......when you get the horns, in the package will be two horns, a relay and four metal connectors......get the insulated clamps and attach one to each side of the front of the frame......when you do this...attach two of the connectors to the clamp.....then attach the horn to the connectors........that way they will be freaking loud!!!!

http://www.vtxcafe.com/gallery/data/500/medium/horn2.JPG

http://www.vtxcafe.com/gallery/data/500/medium/horn1.JPG

footprintsinconc
04-07-2010, 08:08 PM
epiphysis, That is a good way to install them! you actually wont need the grommet anymore at the P clamp. the straps wont dampen the vibration.

I think I am going to change mine so they are like that too!

Great thinking!!

wanderingbear
04-07-2010, 08:20 PM
I installed the horns following the directions by foots....however, I modified them just a bit......when you get the horns, in the package will be two horns, a relay and four metal connectors......get the insulated clamps and attach one to each side of the front of the frame......when you do this...attach two of the connectors to the clamp.....then attach the horn to the connectors........that way they will be freaking loud!!!!

http://www.vtxcafe.com/gallery/data/500/medium/horn2.JPG

http://www.vtxcafe.com/gallery/data/500/medium/horn1.JPG

Do you book the OR on the weekend for all these mods Doc???:D:D

epiphysis
04-07-2010, 08:52 PM
Do you book the OR on the weekend for all these mods Doc???:D:D

my garage is my mc OR!

footprintsinconc
05-28-2011, 10:16 PM
I have made the following change to my installation described in POST #1....and am now recommending that you do it this way to guarantee that the horns are securely mounted while being obnoxiously loud :).....the credit for this idea goes to epiphysis.

here is how i have mine currently mounted, i just need to trim the bolt that i used, but its not really visible.

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-DtqTVXAPcBc/TeGqOznGoII/AAAAAAAADI0/xM_UwDdTGMY/s400/IMG_20110528_190430.jpg https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-dfSjjFpwTR0/TeGqUGybD9I/AAAAAAAADI4/Ryi8l8lRlCs/s400/IMG_20110528_190348.jpg

pruden
01-13-2012, 01:49 PM
i gotta do this!!!

RBull
04-25-2014, 11:56 AM
An old thread revived. Stebel is out of business but I picked up a pair from footsinconc and got them installed a week or so ago.

The finished product. Definitely a nice upgrade vs. the OE horn.

http://i153.photobucket.com/albums/s227/skidoomach1/063.jpg (http://s153.photobucket.com/user/skidoomach1/media/063.jpg.html)

http://i153.photobucket.com/albums/s227/skidoomach1/062.jpg (http://s153.photobucket.com/user/skidoomach1/media/062.jpg.html)

footprintsinconc
04-25-2014, 07:32 PM
looking really sharp. I like the way you installed them higher up.

I am looking into a new supplier right now and from what I hear, they are back in bussiness. I will let post here once I find out more in a couple of weeks. Thanks!