Smokes sometimes - help!!!!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Smokes sometimes - help!!!!

Smokes sometimes - help!!!!

First timer worried bout my bike. Blows a little smoke on start up. Only happening part of the time. Runs good idles good. In 1,000 miles burned bout 6 ounces of oil and plugs look spent

oldcop812 is offline Senior Member Florida Riders Group
    Hello and Welcome to the Cafe from Port Orange, FL. Some one will chime soon and give you good advice, this is the place to find all your answers about VTX.

Vinish is offline Senior Member Michigan Riders Group
    Sounds like it is running way too rich which is easy to fix or it is burning a lot of oil which is probably a major problem. Assuming it is the former, you need some carb adjustments/tuning. I am not a carb expert but look for any post by Charlie D and at the bottom of his post in his signature is an excellent process for tuning your carb. To do this, you will be best off if you buy and install Glen's permanent A/F screw. Depending on how much modifying you want to do to the carb, you may also want to buy a Factory Pro jet kit and install the parts as dictated in the Charlie D write-up.

G'day,

Vinish

Donut is offline Senior Member Michigan Riders Group
    Indiana Riders Group
    If you are using the choke for starting that's why. Use it sparingly.
    Also your bike is most likely set lean from the factory, yes I did say lean and that I'm guessing you are using the choke.

mjklaser is offline Senior Member New Hampshire Riders Group
    Quote Originally Posted by Kate's Rider View Post
    First timer worried bout my bike. Blows a little smoke on start up. Only happening part of the time. Runs good idles good. In 1,000 miles burned bout 6 ounces of oil and plugs look spent