Honda VTX 1300 / VTX 1800 Motorcycles Forum banner

Losing power, bogs down - what could it be?

4K views 27 replies 12 participants last post by  Charlie D 
#1 ·
My 1800 starts, but when riding its starts to bog down. Then it catches, then loses power and bogs down. I have noticed this before, and it seems like its every time I wash the bike. I only notice this power loss after a few days of washing. Also, to make things more confusing, I did put in a tank of gas 2 days ago. I have read other forums and they said to check the grounding wires and also the battery cables to see if loose. I have done all that...except the common electric ground which forces me to take off the gas tank. Its a 2003 btw. Could it be the battery itself? Any suggestions? I am a newbie, so go easy on me if you have instructions for me to do.

#2 ·
Hi Rb. Welcome.

First thing I thought of was the connection to the battery.

This happening a few days after washing doesn't ring a bell. If it was right after washing it would indicate water shorting something out, but this would be what, water getting somewhere and migrating to a short in a few days. Possible I guess, but I can't explain it.

It could be the battery itself; it's six years old. Do the lights or displays flicker too?

Could you be getting water into your air intake?

#3 ·
Hi Rb. Welcome.

First thing I thought of was the connection to the battery.

This happening a few days after washing doesn't ring a bell. If it was right after washing it would indicate water shorting something out, but this would be what, water getting somewhere and migrating to a short in a few days. Possible I guess, but I can't explain it.

It could be the battery itself; it's six years old. Do the lights or displays flicker too?

Could you be getting water into your air intake?