Honda VTX 1300 / VTX 1800 Motorcycles Forum banner

Soldering Help

2K views 28 replies 7 participants last post by  h2omagnet 
#1 ·
The attached pic is of the back side of my garage door opener remote. I've highlighted the area that is the back of the switch that activates the door. If I want to solder an external switch, how would I place the wires across these 4 contacts? Thank you, I'm not good with this circuit stuff!

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
http:https://cloud.tapatalk.com/s/586fc7c03217c/IMG_20170106_104146.jpg?

#2 ·
Remove the battery. Get your multimeter and set it to ohms or the audible connectivity setting, that's the speaker-looking setting that only sounds when your probes touch the same wire or circuit. Probe any TWO of the four prongs. One pair of them, or the other pair will sound off when probed with the button released. Now probe one prong from each pair, there will be no connectivity between them, push the button and the multimeter will let you know you've found two prongs that are switched by the button, wire these two prongs to your external switch.
Looking at you pic, I'm thinking you might be able to SEE that (as I see it in the pic) the upper two are connected to one leg of the circuit? I think I also see the bottom two are on another leg...If I'm seeing this correctly, connect either of the upper two to either of the lower two via your external switch.
Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

#5 ·
Leave the current switch intact, it will function normally, it will have no idea you've added an external switch.
Couple things to consider:
First, make sure you use a momentary switch, you'll not want to accidentally leave it switched 'on'.
Second, use a hot glue gun to apply glue directly to the wires right at the solder points, and a dab here and there to help hold the wires in place, this will help prevent damage due to vibration of the wire.