Fuel additives, yes or no?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Fuel additives, yes or no?

JRM is offline Keep er safe!! Joe Washington State Riders Group

Fuel additives, yes or no?

OK, I'm a newbie, maybe someone already asked this question, do you use fuel additives such as STA-BAL? Every Time I have a problem with any of my motor driven machines, such as lawn mowers, rototillers, or....my motorcycle and call the repair shop they ALWAYS say it is bad gas. And ask if I use additives. Well, back then no, but now yes.

As far as the bike goes, the parts guys at the Honda dealer say that gas goes bad in less then 2 months. And suggested to add some STA-BAL with each fill up, which I do most of the time. That stuff is expensive, $10.50 per copy! But well worth it if it keeps my gas good and increases the Octane. OMG! Not that damn Octane thing again!

But, besides the VTX, I do put additives in my wood splitter, lawn mower and my grandsons RTV.

Joe

tods58 is offline 777 SLIGHTLY MORE EVIL Florida Riders Group
    Georgia Riders Group
    I don't have a problem with the gas going bad,my bike is not going to sit that long. 87 octane. I don't know whether additives work or not? I keep the bike maintained and ride the hell out of it.

eagleinthewind is offline Senior Member
    South Carolina Riders Group

North Carolina Riders Group
    Personally if you ride at least once everyother week I see little need for Sta-Bal, if setting up for a couple months in the winter then yes and as for added octane, the VTX is designed to run on 87, increasing that is a waste of money.

Gonzo1970 is offline Equito Passim Missouri Riders Group
    Illinois Riders Group

Quote Originally Posted by JRM View Post