Honda VTX 1300 / VTX 1800 Motorcycles Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For the past few months, I have had this random issue, with my bike just shutting off while riding. I have replaced the battery, and testing my full charging system. I have inspected the wiring to the PCM, I have checked the wiring for the stator, rectifier, the diodes check out good. I have noticed that when this happens, I have messed with the kick stand switch, and sometimes it starts. When it does, if I turn the throttle it seems to suck air, then die, sometimes it just boggs down. I am just running out of things to test, inspect..

I am a mechanic by trade so I have gone through everything I can think of. Tia

·
Registered
2009 VTX 1300R, Long Island NY
627 Posts
Are you sure the kick stand switch is still good? Might be as simple as getting a new switch.

Also, just to make sure, I have to ask, did you tighten the battery terminals with a screwdriver or a wrench? It needs to be wrench tight.

·
Super Moderator
10,203 Posts
If the issue is a bad kickstand switch. then when the problem occurs, pulling in the clutch or shifting into neutral should eliminate the problem. Someone correct me if I am wrong but I believe that the kickstand switch showing a kickstand in the down position only will kill the bike (or prevent starting) if the bike is NOT in neutral and the clutch is NOT pulled in.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #5