Honda VTX 1300 / VTX 1800 Motorcycles Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Everyone,
Despite the fact that I have been riding since 2007, I still consider myself to be a newbie, especially when it comes to mechanical problems. This morning started out to work, and the bike just died. I could not get it started again. I don't normally use the choke, but I did today, and it ran for another minute or two before dying out for good. I rolled her back home and drove the truck into work. Not sure what could be the problem. I'm not much of a mechanic except for the things I have had to fix and investigate. This may be one of them. It might be a fuel issue. Maybe a spark plug issue. Maybe both. Not sure.

I may have to wait until the weekend to do a thorough investigation, but in the meantime, I thought I would get ideas on where to start and what to do.

Here are other things that may have a bearing on this situation:
1. Despite the rain you may have heard about here in Houston lately, it has really been raining almost daily for the past 3-4 weeks. I don't ride in the rain when I can help it. So the bike has sat up for a few weeks. We also took a week vacation during this time. I did ride yesterday to and from work as usual.
2. I did install the Scar mode when I got my Airbox in 2008. Not sure if this matters.
3. I use a K&N reuseable air filter. Cleaned my current filter this past March. Also changed my oil at the same time, Royal Purple.
4. The engine turns over just fine, and the battery did not run down. I did not continue to try to start it once it did not cooperate.