Honda VTX 1300 / VTX 1800 Motorcycles Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
BUDBOWTIE
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
2008 VTX 1300 R
Whether choked or not, sputters when starting up (regardless of temp), runs fine after 2-3 miles. If I stop on a ride to take a break, and fire it back up after 10-15 min, sputters and dies, then runs fine after a minute or so.
I have Cobra slash cuts and a K&N filter (just filter, no "kits").
Bike ran fine all the way from last June to this past February (when I had to use a bit more choke in the morning).
Have read in forums that an A/F screw adjustment is needed, but I am new to this. In the forums, they speak of "screw" and I am also wondering since it is a "twin carb", are there 2 screws?
How close are the recommended settings of "2 1/2 turns" given my setup?
Have not pulled the plugs yet as i am just beginning to research this. If they are "fouled", what is a good cleaning method? Or should I just replace them? If replacing, should I go stock, or is there a better brand or type? Any recommended gap change?
If environment makes a difference, I live in Florida and weather is generally mild year round.
If you have any pictures showing locations of the screw(s) I would appreciate it.
If anyone out there has been through this and can provide a bit of info, thank you for your help.

·
The guitar, not the fish!
33,457 Posts
Not sure where you got your "twin carb" info :kidding:...There's only one carb on these bikes...I'd pull the plugs first and check them out...There's four plugs, two per cylinder...The chrome covers at the top of each cylinder just pull off...Very carefully wiggle them back and forth, and they'll release from the rubber grommets..Then you'll see the wires and plugs...

·
Registered
1,112 Posts
if plugs are fouled replace with champion RA8HC plugs.work great and only $1.49 ea.i would even check to see if battery connections are tight.

·
Registered
61 Posts