Honda VTX 1300 / VTX 1800 Motorcycles Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so like my name says I am new to the world of bikes...

Is it possible to swap the brakes around, I have a fused ankle bone so braking with my right foot is kinda difficult, My question is this, moving the back break from the foot to the hand brake is it possible? Anyway thanks for the info yet again....

Oh if I am posting in the wrong thread please tell me so I can post in the correct thread, Thanks...

·
Equito Passim
9,148 Posts
Ive never heard of moving the brake to the other side. Doesn't necessarily mean it hasn't been done.. but you really don't (or shouldn't) use the rear brake much at all, except for certain situations.

But then you would also be looking at shifting with the "bad side" which would be used Way more than the brake would (or should) be used.

-Gonz

·
Premium Member
27,731 Posts
Moving it to the bars would mean activating all 3 calipers with one lever. I've never heard of that being done. If you use the gears to slow you down the fronts should work just fine for normal stops. Is this a temp thing or are you looking for a permenant mod?

·
Registered
1,624 Posts
your brakes are linked, and that is worked by the rear brake pedal only. That is a problem if you need to stop fast, like real fast. Your hand brake works two calipers on two front wheel rotors, and should be fine for 95 percent of all stopping needs. I dont see a right to left switch happening either easily, practically or without great expense.
Sorry, Bry

·
team VTX cafe physician
14,396 Posts
the front brake does most of the stopping so you should be ok......I would try practicing braking in an empty parking lot with your right foot.....you will have to push the brake with your leg instead of your foot which will become a natural thing to do...much easier than modifying your bike

·
Registered
748 Posts