Honda VTX 1300 / VTX 1800 Motorcycles Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi My name is Allan (not AL!) and I am an alcoho......oops wrong forum!

I have been riding without a street crash since 1971. Back then on a borrowed Honda 302 dream machine. Since that bike a borrowed BSA 650, Triumph Bonneville 650 (also borrowed) while in the Submarine Service in Northern Cal. Did a butt load of dirt riding and falling, around Vallejo, no helmets or cool protective gear back then of course, but managed not to break my head, and everything else healed eventually.

Then finally my first (used) Honda 500-4, while taking advantage of my GI Bill to go to college in San Diego. It was my only vehicle and I took pride in not being a fair weather rider. I was younger then!

After that a "brandy new" CX500, (transverse Vtwin) but then I needed more weight for highway cruising 2 up with that wife of back then, so a CB900, the one with the high/low range shifter, a ten speed (which my buddy in Tennessee still owns and rides).

Next a 750 Magna to speed things up a little and enjoy quicker handling, and since I was divorced at that time I didn't need the 2 up capability.

That led me to fulfilling my need to hear a twin gradually wind up as I exited turns. (flaps lips to make that farty sound effect). So I got a 94 Shadow 1100 and kept it showroom clean for 13 years.
(YES I rode it!). Had a great time re-jetting it for open Cobra slip ons, and added a bunch of other cool stuff. (Plexifairing for another example).

So one day I tell my current wife (with whom we have successfully raised a daughter who rides b*tch like no one is back there) "I have had this bike for thirteen years....",
this is my well thought out and admittedly lame effort to run by her the fact that it is about time isn't it?