Honda VTX 1300 / VTX 1800 Motorcycles Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Chub City Racing
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was checking these spike air filter set-ups out, and had thought about buying one. I'm no mechanic by any means, on bikes anyway.....Are these more of just a cosmetic item than a performance item, and do they require any adjustments as far as the motor?? If it helps any, I have HK Sideburners, and did have it jetted when they were installed.....Thanks in advance for any help!!

·
Equito Passim
9,148 Posts
Its a Small performance gain. In my opinion, nothing worth the cost of admission..

Yes, you will have to have the carb re-adjusted/re-jetted with that intake, and if a dealership intalled your jet kit with the pipes, it probably wont work well with that intake. The kits they install are just Stage 1 kits and really not that great of quality.. You would need a Stage 3 Kit. The best kits out there are made by Factory Pro.

-Gonz

·
Registered
2,622 Posts
I was checking these spike air filter set-ups out, and had thought about buying one. I'm no mechanic by any means, on bikes anyway.....Are these more of just a cosmetic item than a performance item, and do they require any adjustments as far as the motor?? If it helps any, I have HK Sideburners, and did have it jetted when they were installed.....Thanks in advance for any help!!
however, i would recommend that your future vtxr get in on the pose thread.

and if you have one with him, that'll make a great double header!!! :coffee::D:choppersm

http://www.vtxcafe.com/showthread.php?t=58524

·
Registered
7,404 Posts
chubcity - if you want to have a good time and meet a bunch of great VTXers you should come to our tech session we are having in August. You will learn a lot there and have a great time.It's not that far from you and there will be a group i know of coming up from the indy area. I know of some that are coming from Wisconsin. This is something that you shouldn't miss.