Honda VTX 1300 / VTX 1800 Motorcycles Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, so I've been a lurker for a while and have never had any issues. The other day I pulled my 2006 VTX 1300R out for a ride, after having it stored for winter. When I went to start it, it won't idle. Now I am a total noob, when it comes to working on motorcyles. This is my first bike. But, after reading this site, I had put Seafoam in the tank when I put it up for the winter. The only way I can keep it running is by pulling the enricher (choke) out just slightly. I've run out the old gas (mostly) and refueled with fresh, but to no avail.

My bike is 100% stock with only 2800 miles on her, please help. I've done all scheduled maintenance at the stealer...

·
The guitar, not the fish!
33,457 Posts
Have you tried to adjust the idle at all??...There's a knob hanging below the airbox, that's the idle adjustment..Might need a little bit higher setting to maintain idle...

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the Reply, Yes I have tried the idle screw just below the airbox, but it seems as though nothing changes. I've tried both raising and lowering... nada.

·
The guitar, not the fish!
33,457 Posts
You sure you're turning the correct thing down there??..Not to be condesending...There's the idle adjustment knob, and also the airbox drain plug....They're right beside each other, and easily confused one for the other...Just seems odd that turning it did absolutely nothing...

·
Premium Member
1,470 Posts
Since it was parked, there were probably few changes in the mechanics.

Open the air box and see if a critter moved in.

You probably found a lot of other suggestions in the threads you read. New gas, use Regular, some fuel system cleaner ...

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Yes, there are two nobs down there... I turned the one on the right. The left one looked like a fuel drain...