Honda VTX 1300 / VTX 1800 Motorcycles Forum banner

1 - 20 of 87 Posts

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I haven't been riding long, maybe 2 years now. I find myself riding about 80mph on a regular basis. That's just the speed the bike seems to ride best for me. On the way home the other day I wondered what would happen if I had a blowout at this speed or faster. A friend told me that bike tires were designed differently and would not blowout like an auto tire. He said he thought they would not blow completely all at once but would slowly flatten. He also said bike tire sidewalls were designed to be stronger to withstand the brief ride it would take to stop the bike. I told him I was skeptical. No one mentioned this to me when I bought the bike. I was a newbie asking newbie questions, safety being chief among them. I would think the salesman would have told me this to help him with the sale. He didn't. So now I'm asking the forum for clarification. I am also interested in what would happen if a blowout happens at this speed (80mph). IMHO if you are going 100mph+ and have a blowout, you are as good as dead. I appreciate any stories on the subject to better prepare me for this possibility. Thanks everyone!

PS: How many miles can I expect to get on a new set of tires?

·
The Wanderer
6,665 Posts
I'm curious to see the responses to this also.

I run Metz ME880's a change them both out at about 10,000 miles. usually I could get more out of them but since I only have two tires I want to be sure that they have good tread on them.
I also change the front out along with the back even if the front looks good, less down time and more safety.

·
El Chupacabra Lives!
5,687 Posts
Welcome to the Cafe! Try not to be the statistic... err... one who has the blowout at 100 mph :)

·
aka The Rev
1,854 Posts

I found this pretty interesting.

How to Handle a Tire Blowout While
Riding a Motorcycle​