Honda VTX 1300 / VTX 1800 Motorcycles Forum banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi all. Just purchased an 04 1300 with Vance & Hines, airbox deleted and k&n filter. I think it needs jetting and I can’t find the FP kit online. Were these discontinued for the 1300? Can anyone point me in the right direction?

·
Super Moderator
10,817 Posts
Here is the page with the item on the Factory Pro web site: Honda, VTX 1300, Retro, carb, shift star kit

Unfortunately, they appear to only sell it along with the "Long boy" A/F fuel screw for a total of $99.95 + $14 S/H. Perhaps you can contact them and order just the jet kit and then get Glen's Permanent A/F screw. I know that Glens Permanent A/F screw works great but I have no experience with the FP "Long Boy" A/F fuel screw. Has anyone used the latter and, if so, can you access it on a hot bike without removing anything and without burning yourself?

·
Fastest Red Club Member
2007 VTX 1300R, Indianapolis
7,875 Posts
No way you can get enough grip with gloves on that. No way to turn that without gloves you'd burn yourself. Good thing you don't typically need to adjust the AF mixture once it's set so setting on a cold bike no problem. The hard part would be knowing how many turns out you are when you can't see it.

·
Super Moderator
10,817 Posts
I think it would be nice to be able to adjust the A/F screw during the rejet/tuning process on a hot bike - a particularly hot bike given that two of the tests done during the tuning are to rev the bike to or near the rev limit and to run the bike up to ~80 mph.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)