Honda VTX 1300 / VTX 1800 Motorcycles Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First of all, great forum! I’ve been reading/using this site a lot. I’m a novice so any help I can get would be greatly appreciated.

I have a 2007 VTX 1300R that I bought new in 2008. I had Cobra pipes put on by the dealer when I first got it
I’m not sure if they adjusted the A/F when they installed them. It’s always seemed like it‘s run lean when idling.

For the past year or so, it’s been backfiring when I ride and then let off the throttle. Based on other posts, it sounded like I needed to adjust the A/F mixture to make it richer. So I bought Glen’s permanent Mount A/F screw. I installed it per the instructions, including backing it off about 2 turns as a starting point.

When I started the bike up, it runs extremely rough when I give it some gas, but dies if I let it go down to idle. I’ve tried adjusting the A/F down to 1.5 and up to 2.5, but it doesn’t seem to make a difference. I made sure that I got the spring, washer, and grommet out with the old A/F.

Any suggestions on what to try next? Thx for your help!

·
Super Moderator
12,333 Posts
Are you equally sure that you installed the NEW spring, washer, and o-ring and that you got them in the correct order?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yes, I did that very carefully to make sure I got it right. I matched it to the A/F valve that I took out I.e., the order you reference above. The only other thing I did was replace the vacuum hoses with hose I got from Advance auto. They matched it to what I took off (5/32).

·
Super Moderator
12,333 Posts
I think your next step is to rejet the carb. You can find lots of advice on here for how to do this. If you do this, use ONLY a Factory Pro jet kit and NOT a Dynojet jet kit.

·
Registered
4 Posts