Honda VTX 1300 / VTX 1800 Motorcycles Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi i have a 2005 vtx 1800 injection roughly 30.000 miles basicly runs but like a pig ,im pretty sure its the exhaust camshafts on both cylinders but first ,i would like to pass this by with a few piston heads to see what they think
i am an engineer i have been working on mtu cats and detroits for more than 40 years
ok symptoms starts perfectly cold or hot ,misfires throu the hole range and vibrates in every gear cannot sit at 70mph shudders on. acceleration when you down shift backfires out of the exhaust ,,exhausts are standard from the factory
ok standard practice change spark plugs ,still the same coil packs changed still the same ,injectors out tested all ok ,vacum leaks none ,spark plugs out i looked in side with endiscope pistons come too the top no bent conrods
next compresion test now this is when things start to go realy weird ok took 1 plug out of each cilinder coils unpluged
spun engine over front cylinder 0 compression ,back cilinder the same 0 compresion ,ok next step i ran the front cilinders all conected engine running 600 rpm 0 compresion 800 rpm rose to 22 psi ,and then front to back same results ,ps i also checked valve clearance all ok ,so now im thinking it has a problem with the decompressor side of the exhaust camshafts so my question is has anyone had a similar problem ,
1 is it possible to get cam covers of without lowering the engine
2 is it possible to change camshafts without lowering the engine
3 is it possible to remove the decompresor lobe on the camshaft and still use origional camshaft
i have left the last part of the story its the best okay some times you have to bite the bullit and take it too a dealer