Honda VTX 1300 / VTX 1800 Motorcycles Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been searching these forums and those at VTXOA for some clear explanation regarding just how much I need to remove in order to install Glen's Permanent A/F Screw. The instructions provided with the hardware mention removing the air box, but not the carb (and they don't show anything other than what it will look like when finished). I'm a novice at things like this but willing to try (I installed a Triple Whammy, Screaming Banshee and USB/12 v handlebar port today - hey, it's a snow day!).

Anyhow, I've got the air box hanging by the tubes at this point. How much more needs to be removed? I read elsewhere that the tubes on the back side of the air box are hard to get reconnected when putting it back together. Does the air box need to be completely removed? And, where exactly does the screw go once it's removed? I saw a photo in another post with the screw installed, but it was after the carb had been removed and it was a little unclear of the actual location as it was difficult to get some perspective. I've also checked Youtube, too, to see if anyone had any install instructions out there.

Any help will be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

·
Fastest Red Club Member
2007 VTX 1300R, Indianapolis
7,453 Posts
You have to completely remove air box.

For that you also need to have the tank off unless you've decaped airbox.

Follow bassdude guide for that.
http://www.vtxcafe.com/showthread.php/33679-Gas-tank-removal-how-to-(with-pics)

Once you get airbox and tank off then you just unscrew the old screw making sure you get all the parts out.
Then install glen's screw.

You do not have to remove the carb from the bike for anything other than doing a complete cleaning of it.
Even jet changes are done with carb on the bike.

This might help??
The A/F screw is on the back side of carb when your looking at it with the airbox removed.
Behind the bowl.