Honda VTX 1300 / VTX 1800 Motorcycles Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I’m an Army vet so I’ll try not to state what the other branches plan to do for the coming changes.
There are likely a good percentage of VTX riders that are vets and the recent decision to allow gays to serve have stirred a lot of emotions/ speculation as to its effects. A majority of vets (including myself) have not been “comfortable” with serving with gays (even though we likely did unknowingly) and have not supported the “politically correct” agenda since it was first pushed during the Clinton era (why do liberal issues explode during blue state rule?).
One observation I have made about the gay movement is that (they) are unconcerned with effects to national security (I know, the repub’s and generals already used that bullet…without success) this decision will have. I could best compare this new “experiment” for the military to the failure of men and women serving within the same unit. If you don’t think there are any problems with men and women serving together then you have not been assigned to a unit where the “soap opera” drama never ceased because fraternization, favoritism, double standards, sexual harassment and even “baby mama drama”. I’ve seen whole commands be absorbed for months due to male/ female “issues” that had to be dealt with. The Army has not been in the business of “fairness” and has always sided with female soldiers in every aspect. An example being that a male cannot claim sexual harassment while the female can. Another example could be how females must pass half the standards of the bi-annual physical training test than men (we’re the same right? Why the different standards? Oh, now we’re different when it’s beneficial and convenient!). I’m not against women in the military; I’m against males/ females serving together.