Honda VTX 1300 / VTX 1800 Motorcycles Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Got 2005 VTX1300 s. It's been sitting in the garage for 2 yrs. Regular maintenance done as it's at 10100 miles.
Biggest problem I had was this bobbing sensation between 30-40 mph. I thought it was a flat spot in the tires.
Reaction, new tires.
Solution still bobbing.
Reaction, new wheel bearings
Solution, still boobing
Reaction, new steering bearings
New problems : leaning hard right, uncomfortable breaking pull to left, tracking like I'm drunk and wont track straight. Steering moves smoth on the jack but tight while riding.Inconsistent cornering. Still bobbing.
I had taken the cap off the left fork. The oil is a dark grey it doesn't seem to be level.
I'm new to motorcycle maintenance.
Thanks in advance

·
Registered
42 Posts
Same road you are testing on? I have a couple place around my house that are like riding a bucking bull at certain speeds. Sort of a harmonic bouncing that gets bigger as you go unless I slow way down there.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Funny I avoided the smoothest roads because it became more noticeable and I wanted to ignore it to ride longer.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Same road you are testing on? I have a couple place around my house that are like riding a bucking bull at certain speeds. Sort of a harmonic bouncing that gets bigger as you go unless I slow way down there.
Funny I avoided the smoothest roads because it became more noticeable and I wanted to ignore it to ride longer.

·
Registered
233 Posts
Did you properly torque everything when you put the steering column back together after putting in the new steering bearings? There is an excellent how to on doing that work on this forum.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·