Honda VTX 1300 / VTX 1800 Motorcycles Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
192 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking for opinions on what might be the best handling cruiser you have ever ridden? I know, I know, it's more the rider than anything, but which bike have you owned that was best in the twisties or sweepers?

·
Registered
15 Posts
I dunno if it's consider a cruiser, but the SV650 has a reputation for being a superb "twisties" bike -- that which I would be taking out, were I going to do "twisties" riding.....I'm new to my VTX 1300, so I'm still learning it's riding style.

Cheers,

·
Registered
5,336 Posts
I'd have to say the VTX is the best in my experience but then it's the only cruiser I've ridden unless you count a Rebel 250.

·
Sarge
643 Posts
I know I'll hear about this from many of you, but the Suzuki 1500 Intruder I had was a superior bike in the twisties in my opinion. With the center of gravity being lowered because the fuel tank was beneath the seat, it was a very responsive machine in the turns. Having ridden the dragon on both, the VTX was no match for it... however, from a reliability perspective, the VTX wins hands down..

·
Registered
706 Posts
#1 Yamaha road warrior
#2 Victory Vegas
I find the X to be a bit lazy (even with a bike tire) but laid back is good on a crusier.

·
Registered
478 Posts
kinda out of the blue and i have no experience with it, but the talk in all the mags is the new ducati diavel. the've made a cruiser, but being more known for sport bikes supposively it handles better than most other cruisers. faster too.

·
Equito Passim
9,148 Posts
VTX with:

Progressive Springs Front
Progressive Shocks Rear
Steering Bearings changed to All Balls
Good Tires set to 40psi

I havent ridden another bike yet that will compare.

Granted, the VTX isn't stock... And I haven't ridden another bike with those mods done... But every bike Ive ridden seems a little.... "sloppy" Not Dangerous, "sloppy" just not..... "tight"