Honda VTX 1300 / VTX 1800 Motorcycles Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
621 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Lazydawg (Jeff) posted a great power box (fuse box) mod at http://www.vtxcafe.com/showthread.php?t=17395&highlight=fuse+box+mod. His post and the subsequent thread (which probably needs to be distilled down into a sticky) not only gave me a fuse box solution, but it also educated me on my options.

Jeff's thread got me thinking about how to design a solution for my own bike which on which I'm about to install a number of accessories. I did a design which showed all the components, the fuse sizes, and the wire gauges. Not being an electrician, I wasn't able to do the diagram with all the proper symbols and using the standard diagraming technique, but the diagram was good enough to demonstrate to me the need for some kind of a relay organizer.

Anybody got an idea on how to organize four or more relays?

If you'll double click on the diagram I've attached, you'll see a version of Jeff's power box in red at the left. The first fuse appears separated from the remaining fuses in the diagram, but I intend it to be one of the fuses in the consolidated fuse box. Instead of feeding the fuse box through a central power post I will feed it through the post for the first fuse.

You'll notice a black box at the bottom. This is my ground buss. I will probably implement this as some have suggested as a brass plate on the bottom of the power box. I will install a number of ground screws on the plate.

On the diagram you'll also see four green boxes. These are my relays. I've labeled each plug with what I hope to be the correct port number. These are the relays I'd like to see organized in some manner so I don't have them hanging off the ends of wires and stuffed under the seat.