Honda VTX 1300 / VTX 1800 Motorcycles Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off, I can't believe the knowledge and info that is on this site. I can't believe all the VTX people out there. I thought that Harley guys were the only proud bikers out there. Now, I realize VTX people are just as proud. I thought we lived in the shadows of Harley's. This site has me excited. Thanks.

I have a 2003 VTX 1300. I posted a thread about no power and sluggish and will not idle. Look up the thread Jchans, Questions. I was told to put Sea Foam in the tank and possibly clean the carb.

My questions is how hard is it to take off the carb and clean it? Where do I go to find out how to take off the carb? I am not a mechanic ( Police Detective), I use to be a helicopter crew chief in the Army about 15 years ago and know my way around Helicopter engines and avionics. Limited on tools but its all nuts and bolts. Just want the honest truth whether or not It is over my head.

Second, I see alot on here about mods? Am I missing something. We love our bike and I really dont understand all the mod business. Will this improve our riding. Give me the truth on mods, greatly appreciate everything you guys have to offer,,,,Thanks.

·
Dragon Slayer
8,515 Posts
Need some basic info first, what kind of pipes, stock or aftemarket, is the airbox stock or aftermarket. First thing would be to run some seafoam through the tank & check plugs for fouling, the choke is not really a "choke" it just dumps raw fuel itno the carb & will foul the plugs in short order.

·
Certified Biotch!
7,165 Posts
Depends on which "Mods" you are talking about...SCAR will make it run better...PVR keeps it from popping and backfiring as much the Kermit mod makes it look better while it's running lol...but then again I think everytime I add something chrome to it, it makes it run better also...so who am I to ask...:stirpot:

·
9,160 Posts