Honda VTX 1300 / VTX 1800 Motorcycles Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Any body that has seen my previous posts know that I love my bike. After not riding for a couple of decades I can honestly say I was behind the curve. When I started looking again I fell in love with the VTX 1800N. Everything about this bike just looks right. Well my wife bought it for me. It's original owner took good care of him for me, evidently knew I would be along eventually. Shortly after I started riding him in hot weather he would stall at stop lights on hotter days and low oil pressure light would come on. Bike had been serviced right before I bought it and the oil did look brand new but kind of thin. I never thought anything about it. I was just ready to get in the wind and ride. I got to doing some research and found that the recommended viscosity for the bigger twins was 20W50 in hotter climates. So needless to say that explained the lifter tap and stalling when it was hot. In my younger days when I did a lot of drag racing I stumbled upon Valvoline oil. I was having to re-ring and put new bearings in my car engine way more often then I should have been before switching to Valvoline. So it wasn't a far stretch for me to go to my trusted staple of oils. I put my Valvoline 20W50 four stroke motorcycle synthetic oil in. I just changed it at almost 4 thousand miles and it was dirty. For those who have never used Valvoline. The first thing it always seems to do is clean the engine. The engine had quieted substantially and even got cocky with it's new oil. So when you are looking. Even though most people promote AmsOil. And it is the original synthetic, Valvoline to me is every bit as good if not better. Valvoline has been making engine oil for 150 years. AmsOil has only been around since I believe 1954 was the original date.

·
Super Moderator
11,301 Posts