Honda VTX 1300 / VTX 1800 Motorcycles Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello I'm new to the VTX cafe and I have a question.
There is a code a series of beeps when the ignition switch is turned on. This is used in trouble shooting the VTX1800.
When changing to a power commander is this enabled?

·
Registered
3,548 Posts
No beeps that I'm aware of. The FI light can blink 'in code' at start up for self diagnostics. This is a 'Honda' feature and is not affected by the installation of a PC.

Welcome to the Cafe!

·
Registered
368 Posts
The stock Honda has no "beeps", there is something else on the bike.

·
Registered
23 Posts
I'm looking to add cobra slip ons to the already installed Hi Five on my 2008 1800T. The power commander site says I need a part of Oxygen Optimizer kits? What are these for and do I really need them. To confuse things further there is an EX version.
What is really needed to make this baby sing in the spring?

·
Registered
3,548 Posts
You'll want a PCIII, not the EX version (unless you plan on moving to California sometime soon!)

Oxygen Optimizer,,, website says: Oxygen Optimizers needed for California and some overseas models,,,,

Unless your bike was made specifically for California or the overseas market (Doubtful) ya don't need 'em.

Yeah, I also see on the PC website where it says F, N and R bikes require 'em,,,, Bull shorts! ONLY if the bike was made for Cali or (some) oversea's.

Got a PCIII equipped 07 F just up the street, no O2 eliminators (same thing as an optimizer, different name) needed on it as it's a 49 state VTX

Here in the US, there are '49 state' VTX's and 'Cali' VTX's. Cali bikes have O2 sensors in the exhaust, 49'ers don't.California and some oversea's models - 2 Optimizers Required

Power Commander III USB 122-411

·
Registered
3,548 Posts
If you have O2 sensors you'll be able to see them on the backside of the pipes and the wiring too.