Honda VTX 1300 / VTX 1800 Motorcycles Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2005 VTX1800 S2
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just rebuilt the top end on my 05 VTX1800. So I have been watching closely for leaks. I found a small leak at the bottom mounting lug for the radiator shroud.
Only a few drops at a time, only when running and warm.
Tried JB-Weld High Temp Putty, and it worked for a week, then started leaking again.
Ordered a new radiator.
Has anyone else had that problem?

·
Super Moderator
12,011 Posts
I am not an expert but I believe I recall a number of other people over the years experiencing leaks from the lower mounting lug on VTX radiators. Some have solved the problem via soldering or glue (e.g. JB weld) but most have had to replace the radiators. I hope that others with more experience on this will provide their input.

Reactions: darrenbashby

·
Registered
18,086 Posts
Thanks for the reply Vinish. Hopefully the new one is more durable! Bike has less than 10,000 miles on it.
Many problems of these, our, bikes are not because of mileage, but time, and sometimes not as diligent observations or preventive maintenance. Not that I'm finding any fault with what you do.

·
Registered
2005 VTX1800 S2
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Many problems of these, our, bikes are not because of mileage, but time, and sometimes not as diligent observations or preventive maintenance. Not that I'm finding any fault with what you do.
No worries! I have owned it for just under a year, and I am probably overly concerned with keeping things in top shape.

·
From ID, GO VANDALS!
2005 VTX 1800N Spec 1
518 Posts
I just had the same issue with my bike this spring. First ride out it started leaking on the lower mount. It was very obvious that it was the mount tab that was leaking. I just purchased a new radiator. I may (down the road a bit) repair the old one to have as a spare. For now it lives in my garage rafters right next to the stock seat.

Ride Safe!

·