Honda VTX 1300 / VTX 1800 Motorcycles Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:coffee: I'm heading out tomorrow morning for my trip to Sturgis! I'm riding from Erie, PA on my 2006 1300-C with just the essentials and 2 good friends. It's my first time to South Dakota, any words from the wise?

·
Registered
1,065 Posts
If you MUST come to Sturgis....and have the time...don't leave until two days after it's officially over. Then, use those two days to do the sightseeing and riding you tried to do during the rally.
The back roads are nightmare, and you can expect LOOONNNNGGGGG delays...but, the day after, it's vacant out there.

Bubba

·
team VTX cafe physician
14,421 Posts
first of all, have a great time, wish I was going with you, second of all, I'm in NE Ohio and often come to Erie........stay in touch, there's another guy I ride with from Erie......

·
Registered
1,006 Posts
If you MUST come to Sturgis....and have the time...don't leave until two days after it's officially over. Then, use those two days to do the sightseeing and riding you tried to do during the rally.
The back roads are nightmare, and you can expect LOOONNNNGGGGG delays...but, the day after, it's vacant out there.

Bubba

I couldn't agree more. We usually ride out a few days before Sturgis so we can check out all the vendors, and then ride our a##es off before anyone gets there. Ask the locals where to ride- any ride with the word "canyon" in its name is going to be worth riding. Where are you staying? Oh, have fun....

·
A Texan
4,365 Posts

Bubba
Aw come on Bubba tell him the truth. You don't need two days you will need a minimum of 4 just to get started good.

Just got back from that area a couple of weeks ago. Spent 5 days going as hard as we could and didn't get to do near what we wanted. Unfortunately we were in a Suburban and not on the bikes. Doesn't make the country any less beautiful and a must see.