Honda VTX 1300 / VTX 1800 Motorcycles Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I want to start off by saying that I own a 2006 VTX 1800c. I have had the bike a little over two months now and have already put over 2k miles on it. Love the bike, love the power, love the ride. Next, this is my second bike. I started riding last August, with a shadow 750. Big difference between the two. Anyways, I never rode with my windshield on, with my 750. Always seemed to bog the bike down. Not as much power, to me. So I got used to riding without one. I have tried to ride with a shield on my 1800, and can't seem to get a good feeling while riding. It may all be in my head, but seems like the bike doesn't have as much acceleration or that the wind resistance is bogging it down. Am, I crazy feeling like this. I want to ride with a shield, especially night riding, bugs etc, but can't bring myself to put it back on. Anyone else have this problem. Thanks.

·
Pursuing Perfection
5,859 Posts
I never notice it - any bog - it bolts to 90 with no effort any time. This is with full size Honda shield. Put on the second season.

Try a smaller profile sportier type maybe - or modify one.

One can use smaller one to just remove the parachute effect off the body ( shoulders on down )- so cruising high speed all day is not as tiring.
Then Modular for full face protection.

I know all too well of being beat to death at night in the face with june bugs down the highway.
When I finally got to the cabin - friends took shot of bloody face of impacts. The first time w/o my helmet.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I have a full face helmet that I ride with, so the bugs to the face is not a problem. Another problem I encounter which may still be in my head is the top of the shield is just in my line of view. Kinda annoying lol, but ya I need to look into a shorter shield I guess. Thanks

·
Pursuing Perfection
5,859 Posts