Honda VTX 1300 / VTX 1800 Motorcycles Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The wife and I have decided to go a few places and take our bikes but not ride them there, so we're looking to get a Trinity 3 Rail Motorcycle trailer. In the videos, the guy has no problem loading his cruiser using the ramp provided. I'm sure he has no problem because he's probably done it a hundred times.

So my question is this, for those of you who have had the opportunity to trailer your bike, how much skill does it really take to roll it onto the trailer? I've been riding for about 5 years now and have clocked over 44000 miles but have never had to roll up onto a trailer. Realistically, how likely am I to fall off the ramp or the trailer itself?

·
~ High-Finesse Hooligan ~
11,589 Posts
Here's pics of mine, a CycleHauler model. That rear tailgate is twice as long as it looks - see the hinges at the top? - it unfolds as it swings down to the ground. So I have a full-width, ~4-ft. long, grated ramp to drive up. Very stable - trailer is about 950 lbs. empty - I just ride right up, no problem. The one that you mention, if I saw the right video, has a narrow ramp that you must navigate to get to the deck - that might take some practice and technique development on your part...

'laser :patriot:

·
Registered
8,391 Posts
first check the carrying capacity of the trailer. 2 cruisers... 1,400 pounds minimum .. so a 2,000 would be good.

the LOWER the trailer the better..

I have a 1 bike "nomanco" Low boy.. with 4 inch drop axle... so real easy.. they make a 3 bike version.. I have not seen one...

a full floor should be mandatory... my opinion.

·
Registered
56 Posts