Honda VTX 1300 / VTX 1800 Motorcycles Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m looking for a trailor for my 1300. Lowe’s has 4x6 and 4x8 $650/$ 750. Seems too cheap. Dot approved with lights. anyone have any experience with these to haul a bike?

·
Registered
602 Posts
I hauled my 1800 on a $500 tractor supply trailer. Had to remove the tailgate/ramp to clear rear fender. I've had 3000lbs on the trailer for 2 miles. It's tough.

Reactions: Jim-gard

·
Registered
8,355 Posts
you want a 8 foot long trailer.
trailer must hold 1,500 pounds or more.

do not forget the Harbor Fright has for a motorcycle wheel chock
trailer
put down plywood and a chock and I hooks for tie-downs

I have been trailer-ing motorcycles for over 50 years..

also check prices at out-door stores..

·
Registered
71 Posts
I pull a trailer every day of my life. I've put cars, motorcycles, slingshots, mowers and more on trailers. Make SURE your tongue is an A-fame tongue and not a straight tongue. Straight tongue will track straight but if you EVER get loose; a straight tongue spells disaster. Ask anybody that has ever had a blow out on a straight tongue trailer. If you do go the Tractor Supply route, they are $100 off on all trailers Memorial Day, July 4th, and Labor Day every year.

·
Registered
71 Posts
The longer the gate on the trailer is, the better chance you have of not scraping. If you still scrape, back your pull vehicle up on ramps and it will change the pitch of the trailer. That is what I do.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks for all the great info. I only have a 2x4 Chevy Equinox which can only pull 3500 Lbs. looking to bring bike to mountains in the fall.

·
Registered
8,355 Posts
Thanks for all the great info. I only have a 2x4 Chevy Equinox which can only pull 3500 Lbs. looking to bring bike to mountains in the fall.
should be OK... I Ford Flex has a limit of 4,000 pounds
my 1800 F... did a fine job with a flat bed trailer..