Honda VTX 1300 / VTX 1800 Motorcycles Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've inherited my father's bike and want to get this thing started. Not sure if I'll be able to handle such a monster machine, but first things first. I've bought a new battery, so it turns over. Now I want to drain the old fuel. However, I think the petcock might be under what appears to be an add-on intake device of sorts pictured below. What is this thing? If I can drain the fuel, what should be my next step. The oil light is on, so I may as well change that. I would love to have a list of things to do/check in order of importance to get this guy going.

Vehicle Motorcycle Automotive tire Automotive lighting Motor vehicle

Vehicle Automotive tire Motorcycle Motor vehicle Automotive lighting

·
Super Moderator
12,003 Posts
I am not an expert on VTX1800 bikes so seek other input before deciding your path. This bike is fuel injected so there is no petcock. I am not sure where the fuel pump is. If it is in the tank, I am not sure how you drain the tank. If it is elsewhere on the bike, you should drain the tank using the hose from the tank to the fuel pump.

Remove all the sparkplugs, inspect them, and, if necessary, clean/regap them. They can likely be reused. Put a little oil in each cylinder through a sparkplug port to assure the pistons are properly lubricated while trying to start the bike.

Discard all the fluids and install fresh. This includes clutch, front brake, rear brake, coolant, oil, and gas.

How many miles are on the bike and what year is it? Check the tires for their age and replace if more than ~7 years old. You can find the date of manufacture code on the sidewall of all tires. It will be a 4-digit number in a circle or oval and the numbers indicate the week and year of manufacture (e.g. 1415 means the 14th week of 2015).

·
Registered
2005 VTX 1800F2 w/240 Phat Tire
309 Posts
no petcock, this is a fuel injected bike,.