Honda VTX 1300 / VTX 1800 Motorcycles Forum banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
447 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So here's an interesting question - but first, some background.
I work for a really great boss, straightforward, honest and he is genuinely concerned for my welfare. I've worked here for 8 years and love what I do, I started riding 3 years ago and he (my boss) was never really thrilled about it - not for himself but for my safety. He hasn't really said much more than a comment or two about it since then, but this morning he walks into my office and says "How much?" How much would he have to pay me to not ride. Name my price. He's concerned, it's unsafe, it's dangerous. You could be the best motorcycle rider in the world but when the a$$hole next to you does something stupid you've got no protection. Go ride in the mountains or trails or something - not in the city!
Yes, I agree, it's less safe than a car is - I'm not stupid or blind to that but I told him no price. Nuthin'. I love riding and I know the dangers and I accept those dangers.
Needless to say he ain't thrilled, and I appreciate that, I honestly do, so here's the question.
What would it take for you to give up your ride?

·
Registered
60 Posts
Company car, with them.card and all maintenance paid, than I would ride only outside city. And use my savings to buy a can am spyder RT

·
Regular Person
1,260 Posts
There is no dollar amount that would get me to stop. Riding is my therapy, and it is priceless.

·
Registered
4,892 Posts
$500,000 then as soon as the check cleared I'd quit and buy another bike.

·
Registered
274 Posts
5 million then I could retire and ride whenever i like

·
aka "Buddha Bill"
1,188 Posts
Thats like asking how much for my balls. If you're willin' to sell em', you didn't need em' anyway.

·
Really OLD FART Member
5,197 Posts
Ain't happenin'! :nope:

Motorcycling saved my life and helps keep me sane and out of jail.